“Here Lizard, Lizard, Lizard” by Etta McCadden

It is always sad when a “Cultural Icon” passes, I’m not talking about the Michael Jackson’s or the Elvis Presley’s.  I’m referring to the subtle everyday heroes who have touched our lives with catch phrases that will live forever in our hearts.           

Billy Mays, Morris the Cat, Clara Pella (Where’s the beef) and now Gidget of “Yo Quiero Taco Bell!” fame.  How do you not fall in love with a face as beautiful as this sweet dog? As you ooh and aah at the sight of a Chihuahua’s enticing eyes, you then have to fall down laughing when Gidget opens her mouth and in an authoritative voice says “Yo Quiero Taco Bell”.        

Gidget was not the first Chihuahua who played this part.  This commercial first aired with Dinky the Dog playing the role, but it was Gidget who took it and ran, making the part her own.  As memorable as “Yo Quiero Taco Bell” was, let’s not forget “Drop the Chalupa” and “Viva Gorditas”.    

To me the greatest catch phrase came with the remake of Godzilla.  When this movie was released I remember groaning (like many of you did), “not another Godzilla movie, you have got to be kidding”.   This sentiment quickly changed when I saw Gidget on screen with a box made into a trap saying “Here Lizard, Lizard, Lizard”.  With tears streaming down my face from laughing so hard, I changed my view of the release of an old bad movie.  I still give the movie 2 thumbs down, but had to love the fact that it gave us this great catch phrase.   

I am not going to mourn the death of Gidget, I am going to celebrate her life, celebrate her very existence and the joy that she has brought us.  I will take solace knowing that all dogs go to Heaven, and that Gidget is smiling and looking down on us all.  I know that she is still with us; I suddenly have the urge to have Taco Bell for lunch.

Leave a Reply

